Article: Vantage Honors 2024 Graduating Seniors

Vantage Honors 2024 Graduating Seniors

          Family, friends, and associate school representatives gathered at the annual Vantage Career Center Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 20, 2024 to recognize the achievements of graduating seniors. Awards of Distinction and scholarships highlighted the event, which was held at the Van Wert High School gymnasium.
          The student speaker for this year’s ceremony was Jacob Cruz (Jennings), a senior in the Network Systems program. Jacob spoke of Vantage being a place where students, over the course of 48 years, live a trade, not simply learn a trade. “I, like most of you here tonight, came to Vantage to get a new tier of education. I didn’t want to be shown a trade, I wanted to live a trade. By spending every day in the hands-on environment this school has promoted all these years, I’d say we all got that experience.”
Each year, career technical teachers select outstanding students to receive an “Award of Distinction.” Eligibility for this award includes demonstrating leadership qualities at school, having outstanding achievement in their program area, showing exceptional skills in the subject area, participating as an active member of a school career technical club and demonstrating cooperation, initiative and responsibility. This year’s “Award of Distinction'' recipients were: Madison Osborn (Lincolnview), Ag & Industrial Power Tech; Minnow Searer (Jennings) Auto Collision Technology; Wyatt Brinkman (Jennings), Automotive Technology; Jude Stoller (Wayne Trace), Carpentry; Gavin Grubb (Crestview), Construction Equipment Technology; Cassandra Flanagan (St. John), Cosmetology; Tess Vonderwell (St. John), Culinary Arts; Ethan Sullivan (Continental), Electricity; Emily Dealey (Crestview), Early Childhood Education; Kaitlyn Sully (Van Wert), Health Information Management; Madison Ricker (Jennings), Health Technology; Quinton Schnipke (Ottoville), Industrial Mechanics; Jacob Cruz (Jennings), Network Systems; Mason German (Jennings),  Precision Machining; Dominique Hammons (Continental), Sports Exercise Therapy; and Luke Bockey (St. John), Welding.
    Special presentations and scholarships were also awarded through the evening's event. Kennedy Manufacturing presented a Machinist’s Rolling tool chest to the outstanding Precision Machining Senior of the Year, Mason German (Jennings), and a Maintenance Rolling tool chest to the outstanding Industrial Mechanics Senior of the Year, Jaycee Kennedy (Crestview).  
    Scholarship recipients were a highlight of the evening's recognition ceremony. The Robert C. Stevens Scholarship is given by the Vantage Teacher’s Organization in memory of Bob Stevens, who taught Occupational Work Experience (OWE) at Vantage from 1976 until 1984. Students who are awarded this scholarship have shown outstanding achievement in their program area, while demonstrating initiative and perseverance. This year, the Robert C. Stevens Scholarship was awarded to Cienna Flores (Van Wert) Jude Stoller (Wayne Trace) and Tess Vonderwell (St. John). 
The Robert Brandt Scholarship was established in 2011 in memory of Bob Brandt, the very first Vantage Superintendent. This year’s scholarship was awarded to Chloe Etzkorn (St. John) and presented by Vantage Superintendent Rick Turner. 
Mark Verville of the Van Wert Rotary Club presented the Van Wert Rotary Scholarship to Jenna Corzine (Lincolnview). The recipient of the Marcus Landin Memorial Gift of tools this year was Quinton Schnipke (Kalida), and lastly the Robbie Seffernick Memorial Award, presented to a junior Welding student, was presented to Isaak Hagerman (Paulding).
    All students who have received scholarships throughout their time with Vantage were recognized at the Awards Assembly. This year, Vantage students received an astounding $548,550.00 in scholarships for the pursuit of post-secondary education. 
 CONGRATULATIONS to the Vantage Career Center class of 2024!
More Photos of the Vantage 2024 Seniors Awards Recognition Ceremony:

Print This Article
Apple App Store Google Play Store